Writer Wednesday: Author/Poet Y.I. Washington

Yolanda 1

Y.I. Washington has been writing for years.  But it wasn’t until she freed herself from corporate America and decided to make writing her number one priority that she truly burst onto the scene. Since then, she’s written an amazing book of poetry aptly titled, “Freedom: Poetry From a Life.” And she’s really just beginning. Join our special guest Y.I. Washington as she talks about her journey to authorship. Buy her book here.

What is your name?

Y.I. Washington is what I write under; however, my first name is Yolanda.

Describe your books/genre to our readers.

My first published book, is a poetry collection of works that span over 20 years. However, my first and true love is science fiction. My upcoming projects for next year include short stories and novellas. Eventually, I’m going to let my first novel series out of its cage. That may be sooner than later, because it’s starting to gnaw on the bars.

Freedom_Cover_for_Kindle

How and why did you become an author? Do you write full time?

After being laid off from my last job in 2008, I decided that I didn’t want to work for anyone but me. After some back and forth trying to find what I really wanted to do; I finally and happily (in 2010) chose to write. But I’m writing what I want now and not what I fear others expect of me. I do write full-time. That’s my career choice and it’s now all I can imagine me doing for the rest of my life as a career. Of course, seeing as I am a member of the Late Bloomers club, that could change in another 20 years or so. Who knows.

What inspires you?

Beauty, a child’s laughter, social injustice, nature, laser guns, space ships, explosions. You know, the normal girly stuff. Oh wait, that’s tomboyish stuff.

Describe a typical day.

I don’t think I have typical days. Each day is different depending on how much coffee I can get, how many emails I have, and how difficult my stories are being. Sometimes the stories work with me, sometimes we get into an all-out cage fight. I usually win, by giving the story its way or compromising with it.

What are 3 fun things we should know about you?

I love watching Mythbusters; especially when they blow stuff up. I named my laptop after a Dr. Who character–Dr. River Song. The more I don’t want to cook, the better what I’m making comes out. Yeah, I know, backwards.

What advice would you give to new authors?

First off, know why you are writing, what you want to write and stick to it. If you know why you are writing–to fulfill a dream, to appease the voices in your head, to enhance your career, etc…–you will have a better starting point for mapping out your goals and marketing. Second–and I can’t stress this enough–learn the craft and your genre(s). If you don’t take the time to learn, you will make serious mistakes that have the ability to either set you back severely, or end your career before it can even really get off the ground.

Connect With Her

Apparently smoke signals and Morse Code are passe, so your readers may contact me:

Website

Twitter

Google+

LinkedIn

Facebook

Keep an eye out for my first three Science Fiction projects which will be published in April, July and October of 2014.

One thought on “Writer Wednesday: Author/Poet Y.I. Washington

  1. Pingback: WRITER WEDNESDAY WITH M.L. GARDNER | Y.I. Washington Writer/Poet

Leave a Reply

